Monday, October 11, 2010

Team HATE: Offense

With the bye week this week, we decided to do something a little different here at the blog. 

In the build-up to the Ravens game, we saw a lot of accolades flying around for a lot of players on the Ravens team. Not that this was a problem for us, there are guys on the team we respect; namely Anquan Boldin. But that got us thinking: what players around the league are most respected and most hated by Steelers fans? A natural progression of that was to wonder which players were the most hated.

So we reached out on Twitter, Facebook, and on the blog to collect "rosters" for both Team Hate and Team Respect. We'll be unveiling the teams over the next few days.

The only rule for the rosters was that they could not include any current or former Steelers, which meant players like Alan Faneca, Joey Porter, Chris Hope, and Nate Washington (amongst others) were out of contention.

In addition to our roster, we had 6 people submit rosters for the project, so a shout-out of thanks to: Anthony (@pinkfrizzy), Mike (@killam1ke), James (Black and Gold World), Cotter (One For the Other Thumb @OFTOT), Cory (Three Rivers Burgh Blog@ThreeRiversBlog) John H, and Ian's Dad. 

We allowed everyone to vote for 1 player per starting position and include 5 "Honorable Mentions" on their roster. A "Starting" vote was worth 1 point, and Honorable Mention worth a half a point. The players with the most points officially made the roster.

Today, we announce the Offensive lineup for TEAM HATE.

Brett Favre (2 votes)

Others Receiving Votes:
Carson Palmer (2)
Tom Brady (2)
Jay Cutler (1.5)
Peyton Manning (1)
Phillip Rivers (1)
Vince Young (0.5)
Joe Flacco (0.5)
Michael Vick (0.5)

Running Back
Cedric Benson (2 votes)

Others Receiving Votes:
Chris Johnson (2)
LenDale White (2)
Larry Johnson (1.5)
LaDainian Tomlinson (1)
Marshawn Lynch (1)

Lawrence Vickers (2 votes)

Others Receiving Votes:
Le'Ron McClain (1)

3rd Down Back
Reggie Bush (2 votes)

Wide Receiver
Terrell Owens (8 votes)
TO was the only person on either team to be a unanimous selection.

Chad Ochocinco (5 votes)

Others Receiving Votes:
Braylon Edwards (3)
Randy Moss (2.5)
Deion Branch (0.5)

#3 Wide Receiver/Slot Receiver
TJ Houshmandzadeh (4 votes)

Others Receiving Votes:
Patrick Crayton (1)
Donte Stallworth (1)

Tight End
Kellen Winslow, Jr (3 votes)

Others Receiving Votes:
Chris Cooley (2)
Todd Heap (1.5)
Jeremy Shockey (1)
Jermaine Stephens (1)


Bryant McKinnie (2 votes)

Matt Light (1 vote)

Others Receiving Votes:
Jared Gaither (1)
Khalif Barnes (1)
Michael Oher (1)
Michael Roos (1)

Robert Gallery (1 vote)

Logan Mankins (1 vote)

Dan Koppen (1 vote)

Others Receiving Votes:
Andre Gurode (1)
Stockar McDougle (1)

Joe Nedney (2 votes)

Others Receiving Votes:
Sebastian Janikowski (2)
John Kasay (1)

No comments: